top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenicolelowther

Hair...

I decided to donate my pony tail to the little princess trust and I had the amazing support of my “big sis” and amazing friend Connie who donated her hair too. I would never of had the guts to cut my hair if I wasn’t in this situation, but I was rather excited. Anyone who knows me well will know I love my hair, I’d say it was by far my best feature and I have never dyed my hair to try and keep it in its best condition, so It would last a lifetime, ironically now it won’t but I certainly hope a little girl can get the use out of it. I’ve always been a sort of ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ sort of person and recognised the importance of mental health. Therefore, I often walk past someone and wonder what their journey is (maybe I’m a little nosey too lol) but I’ve always considered myself as someone who is compassionate and maybe I could help those in need. However, it is insane but most girls I look at with long hair I think “she probably takes her hair for granted” because to a certain extent I certainly did. Now I’m not saying this makes you a bad person, I just feel certain situations make you more aware of what you have and how time isn’t infinite no matter how much we wish it was. Getting my diagnosis definitely puts things into perspective and I feel has already shaped me into a slightly different person. I used to be very sensitive and cry at the drop of a pin, now I find I haven’t cried half as much as I would have expected and somehow can handle so much more than I thought. I wasn’t particularly nervous going to the hairdressers however this was the 13th of June, a day after my second chemo and I just felt sick and tired, in a sense this really lifted my spirits. Connie got the chop first and oh god she suited it, now it was my turn and for some reason I felt extremely sad, I was literally holding back tears at getting a haircut, a haircut, really? As I’ve previously mentioned this may be the realisation of being ill I’m unsure, but my hair badly needed the chop. I have posted some pictures on social media and there is a prominent patch at the top of my head that had really thinned that I had no clue about, for all I seen the hair that had fallen out I hadn’t noticed the patches it has left behind. One thing I have fallen in love with is wigs, they are a GODSEND I honestly felt so comfortable on my first consultation that I could have shaved it all off there and then but thankfully I’ll wait a wee while yet until I brave the shave.





1,151 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page