top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenicolelowther

Fun in the Sun

The weekend I was in hospital was amazing, after I had recovered as much as I could from my biopsy I had friends and family taking me out for the day. A very special day was with Georgia and Lindsay. We went to loop and scoop which was amazing and then the botanic gardens. I finally felt normal again and the support from all my friends has been amazing. The day after I got the news my besties drove to the hospital to show me their support, presents in hand which really lifted my spirits. It really means the world and I haven’t had my good luck bracelet off for longer than I have ever needed too, you really learn to appreciate things in times where time may not be permanent. However, given that this hard time has also shown the individuals who aren’t there and haven’t reached out, this is also a positive thing as you truly recognise who you need and who will get you through such and insane and scary journey. On the Sunday we went for a family picnic, here I was surprised with my wee nephew Lubo the dog. He was sporting our violet ribbon (well one of my sister’s blouses had been destroyed and it was rather pink but 10/10 for effort) my heart melted when I saw him. We sat on the grass for a few hours and explored the gardens. Having not been to the west end all that much it was lovely, and the park was insanely busy. We are such a united front when we are together that it truly feels nothing can break us, even you cancer. The next day was time for a PET scan and a PET scan can be used to determine where your cancer is in your body. This is a lengthy and boring period of time. First of all, you need a cannula – AGAIN? Seriously I was sick of them. This time it wasn't inserted correctly and when the saline solution was inserted my hand swelled up like a ball. It was horrible however we tried again in my arm. This was used to insert radioactive glucose into my body. This glucose would be basically eaten by my cancer cells and therefore they would glow on my scan. But this process took an hour. Then the scan itself took a further 30 minutes. I didn’t have my phone in my room that I was given to rest for an hour, but the lovely nurse gave me the clinics iPad. Having only one working arm games were out of the equation, so it was now 85 I had for a gruelling hour. These tunes really were old but ironically radioactive by imagine dragons came on and it really did make me laugh. Eventually the nurse called, and I was in the scan room, all wrapped up and I had to try my very best to stay still. It was over soon not many complaints and I got sent back to my ward. Again, I was so tired and slept but this part of my journey again was a comparison to see how my chemotherapy reacts later on in my cycles. If the cancer cells do not glow after 2 cycles when I repeat this scan, then great if not my treatment must be increased but we just have to wait and see.




1,411 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page