top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenicolelowther

I AM RESPONDING!

Again, I will apologise for being so inconsistent with my blog posts, I will try keep you all up to date, therefore this one might be long! Bear with me I also have major chemo brain so please forgive any spelling mistakes. On the 23rd of July I received my second pet scan as I had completed two cycles of chemotherapy, this experience was fine, it wasn’t amazing, and it was lengthy, but I couldn’t have hoped for it to go any better. This was the Monday and I would normally have been due my first day of cycle 3 chemotherapy on the Tuesday but due to my consultants reviewing my results it was put off for a week. Therefore, on Tuesday the 24th I was having a long lie only to be woken by a call from the Beatson. I had to go get my bloods done due to my chemotherapy being later on that afternoon and immediately confusion set in because it was put off? I explained this to the nurse and she said she would clarify with the doctor and phone me back. This was an anxious wait as my plans for that day were possibly going to be destroyed and I was in limbo. The doctor phoned back and confirmed that I can have my chemotherapy that day as they had discussed my results and I am responding!!!!!!!!!!! I was actually responding that well he was happy if I put it off until the following week but didn’t advise it as I would’ve just been adding an extra week onto my treatment. This was now chemo 5 and it went remotely well, probably the best I have experienced as they dropped the jag in my bum due to how well I am responding this is the “B” In my ABVD so now I am only receiving AVD. I also have been extremely busy the past few weeks one of my favourite days was being in Edinburgh with my boyfriend!!! Yes, I just went and bagged myself the sweetest guy I have ever met, and things couldn’t be better. You know you’ve got it good when someone accepts you at your lowest and I am extremely lucky. Also, another bit of great news is that my gorgeous nephew Jax was born on the 28th of July and he really is my little ray of sunshine who I can cuddle when things get that little bit too much. He motivates me to be my best self each day. I also enjoyed a lovely weekend away in Morecambe with my mum and dad which was much needed. My summer of a lifetime was cancelled but this definitely wasn't the worst replacement. I received my exam results yesterday and I got into not only my insurance choice of Strathclyde but also my first choice which is Stirling. I have decided to defer my course for a year, so I can start when I have my full strength and will be able to perform at my best ability. Having sat one exam two days before I was diagnosed and missed 3 other higher exams the week after due to being admitted in the Beatson I am extremely proud of myself entering my dream university. Yesterday was chemo 6 and that ended my third cycle. Sadly, today I am writing whilst feeling extremely under the weather and lucky if I slept a total of ten minutes last night. Today I will use to recover and hopefully, build my strength up for the upcoming days. I send love to you all and thank you again for reading about my journey.

-N xx




















885 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page