top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenicolelowther

The Build Up

My whole life I have been very prone to catching bugs and feeling poorly, I guess my immune system was just a little weaker than everyone else’s. I was taking Roacutanne for about 6 months last year for my cystic acne and was hoping that would be my one and only time with regular hospital appointments. However, this year was different. I was getting vaccines to go volunteer in Rwanda for my trip of a life time and more frequently I was ending up in NHS out of hours and weekly GP appointments, tonsillitis, swollen glands, fatigue, most of the time I was sent home with some weird painkiller and to drink plenty of fluids and told rest. How could I rest? I was fundraising for my trip, taking driving lessons, my driving test, studying for my condition to get into university and going out frequently with friends whilst juggling a part time job. Eventually there seemed to be an answer with blood tests which presented that I was anaemic, and this explained why I was so tired and overall felt rubbish due to no fault of my vaccines. This was fine for a while however I was not getting any better with the tablets and it was time for the GPs again. This time I got urgent blood tests due to the time limit I had due to me travelling for the summer. These results came back the next day and my iron levels still had not improved. I was urgently referred to the haematology clinic at Stobhill and my appointment was the week later. This is the appointment that would change all of our lives. The one that finally gave us the answer we have possibly been looking for months for.

2,807 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page