top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenicolelowther

The Dreaded Biopsy

The next day came and it was time for my biopsy, I am extremely lucky that I had a top surgeon to which an X-ray meeting was cancelled for his presence of my biopsy. I got wheeled down to theatre - I had to often use my wheelchair in hospital because of the lymphoma in my chest I was gubbed tackling a few stairs never mind walking the long corridors of the hospital- it was a very short wait until my name was called. Whilst I was walking into the room I was filled with fear, it was the horrible feeling in your tummy that you can’t shift. However, the doctor just jumped out of nowhere with tunes blasting on his Bluetooth speaker inviting us in and I was to lie on the bed. Hats off to these people because he tried his very best to calm me with some chart music and make the experience all that less scary. The only way I can describe my biopsy is that the local anesthesia was horrible and painful but what was to follow was like a big BBQ squarer needle being stabbed into my neck where one of the areas of my lymphoma was. I didn’t feel much pain, but it was extremely uncomfortable and if I'm honest, terrifying. This needle also made a weird noise when flesh was extracted, and the noise was like being shot with a B.B. gun. It didn’t take long maybe 40 mins and I was bandaged up and ready for the porter to take me back to my ward. Now I was grateful for the wheelchair, but I got more than I bargained for and was sent upstairs with a porter directing my bed. Everyone stares at you, It’s horrible. It's as if they just can't understand why someone so young would be there getting treatment but throughout my stay there was many teenagers on the ward, its the bitter reality of this disease, it attacks all ages. But as I was wheeled to the lift my biopsy was sent in an urgent taxi to the Glasgow Royal hospital where a top pathologist was waiting on it - again I was extremely lucky to receive this urgent medical attention. The rest of the day was okay, I was tired and sore, but my visitors helped to lift my spirits. Many of you who know me well will know I love flowers, sadly I wasn't allowed them on my ward and almost everyone who came fell victim to the flower ban and we had to smuggle them into my mums room at the end of the ward. I can’t explain the support I have, it’s insane and not to be cocky but I have the best family and friends on this planet, hands down.





2,009 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page