top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenicolelowther

The First Step to Recovery

This day was very long. We knew my chemo was starting in the afternoon and just watched the television to pass the time. Then a bombshell hit, due to the bank holiday I hadn’t received my lung function test which ideally you get before your first chemo for comparison after a few cycles due to one of the drugs you receive being known to harm your lungs. This possibly meant my chemo being postponed to the next day and my discharge date being the day after. This completely broke my heart in that moment, a day seems like nothing but having been in hospital for 6 days you want to go home to your own bed. Luckily, I got fitted in for 3 o’clock and I headed for my test. This test is so hard! I’m not exaggerating, my heart goes out to wee grannies and grandads who have to do it. Being young and fairly fit it should have been a breeze but my chest was in agony afterwards. It was a series of breathing techniques to measure things like my peak flow and I sat in a clear plastic box, I felt like I was on the cube and big Phillip Scholfield was gonna pop out - overall nothing stood out as being bad and I was sent back upstairs. Again, one of the only times I loved my wheelchair. Then it was chemo time, I felt nothing but pure excitement- weird I know but this was the first step to my recovery. Instantly I should be able to breath better, the lump in my neck go down and I should feel a little like myself again instead of feeling useless and tired. HOWEVER, for chemo you have to get a cannula now as I have mentioned. I hate cannulas, hate them so this is one of the only times I cried since being told my diagnosis. I have walked out of hospital having more holes in my arms and hands than a teabag and I think I was just sick of it due to having daily blood tests and cannulas and other blood tests on top of that. However, I made it through and it was time for anti-sickness. This was just a drip going into my cannula and took a matter of minutes, my chemo is called ABVD therefore next was another bag containing one of my chemo drugs, then a syringe filled with another drug that went straight into my cannula and all of this took less than an hour. Then it was time for my hour bag with the 3rd chemo drug in it and I just got to chill with my family. Then once that was done I had to get an injection. Having gotten vaccines for Rwanda I was like right okay you can do this however everyone failed to tell me that this was in my bum cheek. Yes, a jag in your bum, I was devastated I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry, but I can honestly say it was the least painful thing I went through throughout my stay in hospital. Buzzin was an understatement, however my nurse was exceptional at injections, so my bravery can’t take all the credit. After chemo I was very tired so fell asleep for a matter of hours. I woke up to my favourite meal which was toast and tea. Then the excitement of getting home was too much. I was up most of the night then up at 5:30 the next morning. Netflix better not up my fee the amount of stuff I’ve been watching lol.




1,980 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page